Sunday, 3 July 2016

How to Remove the Password Reset option in Your WordPress

Siva Kumar     09:23     No comments

Are you looking to remove a password recovery option WordPress. By default, WordPress allows users to reset / Change the password by providing their email address. Sometimes you can disable password recovery option WordPress. In this article we will show you how to Remove the Password Reset option in Your WordPress

Why to Remove the Password Reset option in Your WordPress


If you allow user registration on your WordPress site, then the password reset option allows the user to recover lost passwords. Normally, you would not want to change that.
However, in some scenarios, you can use this option to remove specific users or user roles for your WordPress site.

For example, if you have created a temporary account for someone, or if you have created a demo site where users can enter a name and password demo.

The easier solution will only remove a password reset link. But some savvy users may already know, URL- to access the password reset form.

Having said that, let's see how you can easily remove the Password Reset / Change Options WordPress.

) Disable Password Reset / Change Option Using the Plugin

2) The plugin method is better and easier. It allows you to disable the option for password recovery or even individual users to specific user roles.

3) This way you can still monitor and ensure the reliable password recovery feature for some users or user roles.

4) The first thing you need to do is install and activate Plainview Protect Passwords plugin. For details, see our step-by-step guide on how to install WordPress plugin.

5) Upon activation, you should visit SettingsProtect Passwords page to configure the plugin settings.


6) Just select the user roles or individual users to disable or change their password reset option.

7) There is also the option to exempt individual users. This option is useful if you want to disable password recovery option for all users except yourself.

8) Do not forget to click the Save Changes button to save your settings.

9) You can see the plugin action by visiting the WordPress login page and clicking on the "Lost your password?" Link. It will take you to a password reset page, where you can try entering the name or email address of a user who does not have the option to reset your password.

You will see an error indicating that the Password Reset is not allowed on this.



, , , ,

0 comments :

Lyte Byte Tech News

Site Archive

Recommended

Company

Legal Stuff

FAQ's

Blogroll

Subscribe to Newsletter

We'll never share your Email address.
© 2015 Lyte Byte Tech News | Distributed By My Blogger Themes | Designed By Bloggertheme9